Hardware h264 video encoding with libav (openmax IL)

Good new libav implements hardware video encoding with OpenMax IL implementation !
See : http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Libav-OMX-H264-MPEG4
I github trunck get and compile it on my RPI 3 under ubuntu mate with openmax il hardware h264 encoding :slight_smile:
I am not very good with video encoding I will make some tests next week and post here !
I hope ffmpeg will implement it soon too !
Stay tune !

Aworan

3 Likes

This sounds like it could be interesting to people wanting to use their Raspberry Pi as a media serverā€¦ Over the Internet videos often need transcoding to lower bit rates, wondering if this will make that possible. Looking forward to your test results!

I have done some tests it works great !
I download a DVD sample file in mpeg2 format and convert it to h264 mp4 video.
Encoding resultuts :

• software encoding : ~20 frames per second
  • hardware encoding : ~145 frames per second
    So it works great !
    I have a problem with HD Videos is it not fast but I know why !
    In avconv command I can set the encoder codec but I donā€™t know if I can setup a video decoder codec.
    I explain when it encode the video the frames are decoded but using sofware decoding ā€¦
    I donā€™t know if it is a way to set it ?
    Have anyone an idea ?

forgive my ignorance, but is there something special you have to do to compile the project to tell it to use the piā€™s hardware encoder?

Yes some flags when you do configure.
I will post a tutorial about it tonight or tomorrow :wink:
Stay tune !

Aworan

1 Like

Hehe canā€™t wait! Been thinking about Pi3 as a network accessed encoder (Do NAEā€™s Exist? Guess it will now) for setting up streaming from my desktop as something fun. Do a bit of compression on the desktop to lower bandwidth usage, really compress it on Pi then off to twitch.tv maybe?

To install it, open a terminal :

sudo apt-get build-dep ffmpeg