16.10 fails to start

I have tried two different ISO images and on each occasion am unable to start 16.10 Mate …
The monitors just turn off … “DVI No Signal”

I installed 16.04LTS Mate with no issues and after updating and re-booting used “sudo do-release-upgrade -d” to install 16.10 Mate … rebooted after upgrade …

Computer starts … Monitors turn off “DVI No Signal”

Graphics card is NVIDIA GT970

I am no expert with Linux but not a novice either as I have used Arch Linux as my primary desktop OS for the past 4 years … Can anyone shed some light on this ?

Hi @Toppy,

shut your PC down but keep the monitor running, look for the reset function and reset the monitor, restart your PC. :smiley:

Double check that the cable isn’t loose!. :thumbsup:

Happy New Year. :smiley:

@Wolfman … Thx for the suggestion, all connections checked.
PC boots happily into Arch Linux, Linux Mint, (and dare I say it … a copy of Windoze 10 that is infecting my HDD) :grinning:

I have tried booting to console, removing ‘quiet’ and ‘splash’ so I can see what is going on but with 16.10 Mate I don’t even get that … monitor shuts off as soon as 16.10 tries to load VESA driver

16.04LTS Mate works without issue

Hi @Toppy,

if Grub is up and running; boot into recovery mode and run “dpkg” (a network cable connection required) per the update guide:

@wolfman

Thanks for the help.
I followed your suggestion as I am able to boot to grub … dpkg completed with no available updates/no broken packages.
Since the issue appears to be with video, I booted from Rescue Mode to a command prompt and after installing build-essentials downloaded the latest nVidia drivers with wget and installed them … rebooted …

Grub loads, system starts, monitors turned off again … it’s got me beat as my other OS’s are running fine

Hi @Toppy,

try dropping the nvidia driver version in recovery again with the following command:

sudo apt-get remove nvidia-352 && sudo apt-get install nvidia-304