HDMI/TV suggestion for next release

I would like to see in the next release auto detect HDMI like when you have your TV connected to your computer. I have to manually do it every time and change the resolution to make the picture right on my TV and then do the same when I'm switching back to laptop only display. I mean it detects my TV but my laptop display doesn't show up on my TV until I change it to mirrored displays. Anyways just a suggestion. Not sure if this is the right section for this post so if not then please move it

2 Likes

But it already works like that, unless I misunderstood.

Multi screen layouts are saved after a first setup, so you need not to do it every time.

3 Likes

That is correct. That is how I have mine set up.

1 Like

Well for some reason mine doesn't save. I have to manually do it every time so I don't know

I am not an expert in that field, but my guess is that the culprit could be your TV.

Anyway, the config file for screen layouts is in $HOME/.config/monitors.xml.

Try it to delete it, if it exists, and see if configuring your TV does recreate one.

You can observe that it is a simple XML file, with a section for each connected screen.

Each screen is recognized with a product ID and a serial number. It could be that your TV does not send a valid ID over HDMI, or that it is random at every connection. That would explain your issue.

Ok thanks I'll give it a shot

I looked but can't find the location for that file

Not clear : can't you find the location or the file?

Please type this in a terminal and show the output:

ls -la $HOME/.config/monitors.xml

The output list is too long for me to copy from my phone to here from the terminal on my laptop. I'll have to wait until I get my internet back next month to do this so I can copy and paste from the terminal on my laptop to the forum. Thanks