Hello everybody - Ubuntu MATE newbie here

Hi all,
I’m new to Ubuntu MATE, just registered to this forum and wanted to say hi. Also, I love this distro.

My Linux journey so far: I started out installing Mint Cinnamon on our home laptop, a few months ago. It was running Windows 7 and gotten increasingly slower. Booting took forever, just as starting applications. Working on a Ubuntu-based distro was (and still is) a delight. My wife, who is not technically minded at all, likes it a lot.
On my old XP netbook, I installed Mint MATE and that’s how I discovered the MATE desktop. I like its robustness, speed and simple elegance.
At work, however, I still used Windows 8.1 and since using a Linux distro at home, it frustrated me more and more. Specifically, the non-intuitive design (after XP, it all has gone downhill in that regard) and the intrusiveness (NO, I don’t want Microsoft to know every little detail about me). I would have liked to switch to Linux earlier, but didn’t dare to delete Windows on a work machine and embark on an unsure adventure.
I tried Ubuntu MATE and I liked how fast and easy to use it was. No learning curve at all… It took me a while to figure out how to dual boot my Windows machine - found a good guide at ItsFOSS.com), but now I’m running UM on a new partition (created boot, swap and home) next to Windows. Great!

Just wanted to say that I love it and show my appreciation of the great work the UM team has done. You guys rock!

Cheers,
Koos

5 Likes

Welcome aboard, mate! :smiley:

Welcome Koos… enjoy the ride!

Thanks for sharing your experiences!

welcome to the wonderful world of MATE!

Thanks for the warm welcome!

I like this DE so far. Although I’ve experienced some bugs, or so I believe.

1. When I go to ‘places’ and click on ‘Home Folder’ I get this message: Shotwell /home/koos is not a file.
    Has anybody experienced the same problem?