How to edit "Cosmos" theme and put whatever image you'd like and have them changing automatically

Hey folks, i've been using Ubuntu MATE for 2 years now and i really like this distro, one thing that i missed when i moved from windows to Ubuntu MATE though was that huge variety of themes that we don't have on Ubuntu, however, after a little research i figured out how to edit the "Cosmos" theme (/usr/share/backgrounds) which is the only pre-installed one on the system and change the duration(kind of) and specially the images of the theme, so first things first. Let's cut to the chase.

• Step 1: Open caja as super user through terminal: sudo caja

• Step 2: Go to /usr/share/backgrounds, there you'll find a folder called cosmos, so just for safety's sake create a copy of that folder (ctrl+c, ctrl-v) and rename the copy of it for something like "cosmos1"

Suggestion: Just to make this method easier, rename all images you're intending to replace to numbers in an ascending order preferably(1, 2, 3 and so on)

• Step 3: Open the text file inside the original folder, there's only one in there(background-1.xml) and there you'll find a XML structure. like this:

Just ignore the block below

<starttime>
    <year>2009</year>
    <month>08</month>
    <day>04</day>
    <hour>00</hour>
    <minute>00</minute>
    <second>00</second>
  </starttime>

Ok, the <static> tag means that the image referenced on the tag will be on the screen for x seconds referenced on the <duration> tag, (i think it's seconds because each image lasts around 29 minutes in my case using 1795 seconds as you can see below):

<static>
    <duration>1795.0</duration>
    <file>/usr/share/backgrounds/cosmos/1.jpg</file>
</static>

And the <transition> tag means, yeah, transition :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: