HP PC freezes after 10 minutes use

Im new to mate - - PC works then gets slower and freezes after about 10 minutes - any help?
it worked fine for about 2 months
Using HP Notebook, loaded mate20.4
4Gig ram
could be a loop,?
Im not technical

Hello rusty1

1. Open the application (program) "Mate Systems Monitor", change to the tab "resources".
  2. Reduce the window of the Mate System Monitor, and carry on with your normal "routine".
  3. When it gets slow, open the Mate Systems Monitor again and then post what you are seeing there. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanx for assisting alpinejohn - two interesting things noted

1. on opening, the time indicator froze after about one minute, the system worked about 15 minutes before freezing.
  2. I kept the PC 'on' after freezing - after the screen went dark (normal after not using the PC), I then tried to activate the PC and the opening up screen came on and after typing my username password, I could log in and am now working with no problems.
    Re your questions, monitor Processes showed all processes? sleeping before freezing, but Resources showed CPU1 and CPU2 at extreme volume? and when it froze both at about 100%. I took screenshots ater the system got online again and all is normal now (10-30 CPU usage. Interestingly before freeze, the memory also was about 100%.
    does this help? I will check what happens once I log out and in again and repoer back. Regards. R

Hello rusty1

Thanks for the information...

Hello community, :penguin: :penguin: :penguin:

now that we have some information can any of the more knowledgeable suggest what might be causing this behaviour? :thinking:

Hello rusty1

Question:
If I guide you, are you prepared to open up a terminal and run some command-line programs (I'm hoping they will tell us more about what is going on)?

Hi, I am now in an UNfreeze time - but interesting how I got there.
After starting again and the freeze countdown (in real terms = count UP to 100%) on the MEMORY began,