Macro recorder for Mate SOLVED

Hi, Can someone recommend a way to automise text input. like email addresses? Autokey doesn’t work correctly. I can only get xmacro to work in terminal - I tried linking the " xmacroplay “$DISPLAY” < yourfile.txt " command with a key shortcut but this has no effect either in terminal or elsewhere.
Latest Mate v. on odroid xu4 with emmc boot.
Thx!

Have you tried xdotool?

sudo apt install xdotool

I use it as a way to remote control my UMate PC TV: https://github.com/gabdub/gpie-remote

That looks interesting, thanks. But unfortunately I am not a programmer - can’t find comprehensible tutorials - do you have a typical example for email address entry in e.g. firefox? Cheers!

To type a fixed string in the current active window, you run the command:

DISPLAY=:0 xdotool type "[email protected]"

If you try this in your terminal, you’ll see that [email protected] is typed and if you press [Enter] you get an error (the command [email protected] doesn’t exist).

You can put this line inside a bash script file (add “#!/bin/bash” as the first line, without the quotes, and make the file executable). Then assign this script to a keyboard shortcut. Every time you press that key, the fixed string will be typed in the active window.

I’m not sure if this is what you’re looking for, though.

EDIT: you can also type special keys and move the mouse. Some examples in https://github.com/gabdub/gpie-remote/blob/master/webscripts/dowebcmd.sh

If your needs are only in the browser, and you use (or can switch to) Chrome, there is a plug-in that works very well for me. ChromeAutoTextExpander (https://github.com/carlinyuen/ChromeAutoTextExpander) I like this because, since it works within the browser, it’s cross-platform.

I also use AutoKey-gtk for when I need something outside a browser window. It works anywhere and can be obtained via the software center or by typing this at the command line:

sudo apt update && sudo apt install autokey-gtk