Mate installation on new computer with HDD + SSD drives

Hello, I am a total amateur but have had Ubuntu Mate running on three family computers for years (since 16.04). Now that seemingly all new computers come with both HDD and SSD drives I'm not sure what to buy in the way of a new one or how to configure it. In the past I've just bought a new computer, wiped Windows, installed Mate, reinstalled Windows in Virtual Box and that was it. What is the best way to do this on dual hard drives? I'm sorry if this question has been answered many times elsewhere, if so please point me in the right direction.
Thank you very much!
BK

The answer is almost ENTIRELY "It depends"...

The common advice is "Put the OS on SSD" - which is utterly stupid, even for a Windows box. Boot time is irrelevant, and any piece of the OS you actually use will be loaded exactly once per session, which makes this the worst possible use of an SSD.
That doesn't mean you shouldn't put the OS on the SSD - but it's a good example of just how insanely bad most of the advice out there is, even when it's coming from sources that are generally "good", and it's often based on factors from years and years ago that don't even match reality any more, i.e. from the days of SSDs costing hundreds of dollars for just 64GB, and having the lifespan of a mayfly, etc.

Start by considering just how much "stuff" you actually have, and what TYPE of stuff it is. (The type matters because if, for example, your drive is full of videos, music, etc - well, that's all "cold" data, so it'll be just as happy on rust as it will on an SSD).
Then figure out how much stuff you expect to add this year (and, again, of what type).

Once you've got those numbers, let us know, and we'll use them to help you figure out the ideal setup for you. gl. :slight_smile:

Hi :slight_smile:
This question have many good answers, depends on your need mostly.

My side, I'm trying to apply my company best practices to manage data :