Persistent problem

Hello everybody,
I am new to ubuntu mate. Of all the Ubuntu distros and linux distros I have tried it is Ubuntu mate I have liked the most. But I am troubled by a persistent problem. Whichever linux distro I have tried after some everything goes haywire. Sometimes I could not log in otherwise I will face nagging problems like mysterious disappearance of icons, non responding icons like brave for instance and dpkg refuses to work when I try to reinstall some of the non working apps. When I installed the Ubuntu mate with net connection enabled I happened to read a line which says unsolicited response which was absent when I installed with net disabled. When I tried to install tor browser it refused to install saying you are being attacked or some verified signature is missing. There was not once when I have not gone without any problems with any distro which was the reason why I tried almost all of the Ubuntu flavors and some other distro like Mint. I want to stay with Ubuntu Mate since I liked it the most and for five days there was not any problem. Today I could not login at first. So I did fsck and was able to login but the cursor works but nothing else works. So I did recovery once again and did dpkg and grub upgrade and finally able to login. So I would like to know what the problem is. I have earlier installed Windows but I hate it my guts and do not want to go back again. I am using an AMD A4-9125 RADEON R3, 4 COMPUTE CORES 2C+2G × 2 Lenovo computer with 4gb ram. I am at my wits end please help me to know at least what the problem is
Thanks

Hi :slight_smile:
Are you running on a SSD or a old (maybe domaged) HDD ?
After fresh install chances for this to happen are low OS side, except if your disk got tired and is buggy. It's only a theory :slight_smile:

1 Like