Play songs at certain times

Hello, can someone help me out. Im new to ubuntu and want to use a raspberrypi woth ubuntu mate to play songs during the day at a specific times. What software do u all recommend to do that?

Thanks!

use vlc in command line mode in conjunction with crontab

I haven't got time this minute to write out a set of instructions. But, will do so later today for you

1 Like

Thanks Steve, i will really appreciate the commands to do it.

Okay. So, the first thing required is to explain some stuff about VLC

VLC is a multimedia player that you are probably used to only running with a GUI. However, it will also run from a terminal command and, if you use the correct prefixes and suffixes to the VLC command you can get it to play in the background in "hidden" mode.

A basic VLC command to run a particular audio file might be:

vlc elvis-1-track1.wav

This would run the above file (a) if you happened to have a terminal opened at the same location as the file is stored and (b) it would open the VLC player GUI to actually play the file.

To play the file without the GUI, you would need to prefix the command "vlc" with "c". So, the command would now be:

cvlc elvis-1-track1.wav

This command would run vlc in hidden mode. But, again, it would only run the file if the terminal was opened at the location of the file. To open the above file from a location that is not the same as the location the terminal was opened at, you would need to include the full path to the file. For example:

cvlc /mnt/d72c6179-4d77-49f4-9ee3-5cf63f70d3ce/Audio/Elvis-Collection/Elvis1/elvis-1-track1.wav

This would play the file with vlc in hidden mode. However, there is a little quirk in vlc. This quirk is that VLC, run from a command line, will not actually exit following the playing of the file and so hangs around in memory after the file has finished playing. To remedy this, you need to add the suffix:

--play-and-exit

So, the command, in full, would be: