Removed kernels & /lib/modules/ modules.order & modules.built - now usb devices are not working i.e. I cannot control the pi?

Hi, I’m running Ubuntu Mate 16.04 on a Pi2.

I’m not 100% sure what I did, but when I tried to purge some generic-kernel-headers or raspberry-pi-kernel headers my USB devices stopped working completely.

Now I cannot control the pi anymore via a mouse/keyboard. How can I fix this ?

I tried enabling SSH by placing an empty “ssh” file on the root of a sd card using another PC but it didn’t seem to work.

I need to somehow re-install the kernel-headers to get my USB devices working again - but HOW ?

Please, any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks

Can you put the SD card into another linux machine and chroot onto it?

This should enable you to configure sshd to start on boot. Then you can ssh onto the pi and reinstall your headers/firmware.

@SFromley Hi, yes I can put the SD card into a another Linux machine.

I’m not an expert on this so could you please explain the steps on how exactly I can enable SSH using the other Linux machine including the chroot part ?

I am not 100% sure if the headers are the issue. I was also fiddling around with the /lib/modules/ folder and I may have deleted modules.order and modules.built files which I think may be the real issue here since it seems that no modules are being loaded on boot. Do you know how I can fix this ?

Also, is it possible to re-install the headers or the modules directly onto the SD card using the other Linux machine without the need for SSH ?

I really need to get this sorted since I am unable to do anything on the Pi until I can get the modules loaded again. I’m pretty sure this is an issue with the modules not being loaded on boot.

Thanks

I’d be more inclined to fix the problem on the pi itself because of different architectures. You just need to be able to ssh onto it then the world is your oyster.