[Zesty] Brisk Menu & MATE Menu do not launch Kdenlive

I have installed 17.04 and I have encountered the following problem:

The default menu installed during the installation does not launch Kdenlive. The Brisk menu that I have installed also does not launch Kdenlive.

The menu called Main Menu from the Add to panel menu does launch Kdenlive. Plank also launches Kdenlive. I still have 16.04 installed on another partition and there no such problem.

So it seems that there is no problem since I have two options to launch Kdenlive but is it not a bug?

This evening Plank also stopped to launch Kdenlive. Only the “Main Menu” still launches it.

Not having this problem in 17.10.

What does MenuLibre show?

I am new to Linux and Ubuntu MATE and I never used MenuLibre or knew about this program.

So I installed MenuLibre to learn what it is but I cannot launch it. None of the two menus in 17.04 launches MenuLibre. Not the Main Menu and not the Brisk menu and not the Advance Mate menu

I booted to 16.04 and there no problem to launch MenuLibre there.

My apologies. MenuLibre is the menu editor for 17.10. The equivalent in 16.04, and I assume in 17.04, is called Main Menu. You can launch it from the Control Center, or from System > Preferences > Look and Feel > Main Menu.

Perhaps you should try creating a new user account to see if the problem exist in it. If it does not exist in the new account, then you can move the files you wish to keep from the old account to the new account, and then delete the old account if you have no more use for it.

Edit: This might be the quickest way to resolve your problem.

Thank you I will try that

Main Menu will only help in the sense that you can verify that the menu entry has the correct command. In your case kdenlive