2nd 3.5 internal HD recognition

I have a DELL Optiplex 980 Tower using Ubuntu MATE 18.04 LTS. It has a place for an extra HD where I installed a used 2TB SATA internal HD which was tested and functional. There was already a plug for power and I had to get a SATA Data Cable which I plugged into one of 2 extra receptacles in the motherboard to connect with the HD. When I boot up the system, the new HD is not recognized and I need help in what to do next. Is there something I need to change in the computer system settings or is there something in the Ubuntu MATE OS that needs attention? Or both? Or something else? I have little experience using the terminal.
Thanks for any help to resolve this.
~ Loqi

Hello Loqi,
Do you know if it has a MBR? Any partition or logical volume? Any file system in it?
If it's a brand new, empty disk you might need to set it up and format it before you can use it.

If you're not sure you can take a look in Gparted or in Disks.
('Applications', 'System Tools','GParted, or 'System', 'Preferences', 'Hardware', 'Disks').

Regards from Herman

Hello Herman,
The trouble is, since the disk is not recognized, I can't find out what it contains. The disk was given to me by a friend who no longer needed it. It is a disk with an old Ubuntu OS on it which will boot up if I exchange the disk with my current OS disk (Ubuntu Mate 18.04). I suppose I could format the drive but to do that it needs to be recognized.
It was not clear to me how I would look in Gparted or in Disks. I did get to look in Disks by opening the Control Center and clicking on "Disks" but that only gave me information about my boot HD and CD/DVD drive.
Any suggestions?
Thanks, Loqi

Hello Loqi,
Don't format it if there's anything on it you want.
If you can't 'see' it in Disks or GParted it sounds to me like a hardware problem and maybe you should (a) recheck your connections, (b) try it in another machine, such as your friend's whose machine it was last working in.