A Day With Ubuntu Mate

Hello everyone! I am Loshi01, and I am a new Linux user. Obviously, I am using the Linux distro Ubuntu Mate. I'd like to share of my experience so far and a little bit about me in the process since I might be active on here.

How I switched from Windows to Linux
Before I begin, I'd like to share this is not my first time using Ubuntu Mate, but it is the first time I've fully installed it on a computer and used it for actual software and other stuff. I've been considering switching from Windows to Linux for a few months now. I had tried Ubuntu Mate on my Windows Computer before, but never installed it as I didn't want to get rid of my files and couldn't figure out to make sure they weren't deleted if I installed Ubuntu Mate. So I had only used Ubuntu Mate for about a hour in the past.

However, as of recently, I saw a chance. I found an old Lenovo laptop in my basement. It was Windows 10 but hadn't been used for about 4-5 years. After finding out where the charger was and asking my father about it (as it was previously his) he agreed that I could install Linux on it. As of Thursday, we successfully installed Ubuntu Mate on it. However I waited until yesterday to use it, so I could use it for a full day and share my thoughts on Ubuntu Mate so far here.

Why I switched from Windows to Linux
To understand my point of view a little bit more, I think I should share why I switched from Windows to Linux. It came down to a few factors.

I like to program things, and I found that Windows just isn't the best for programming. I found that many programmers like to use Linux rather than Windows. I also thought I could possibly make small apps for Ubuntu Mate that could help the community a bit.

I also found that Windows, from what I saw, just isn't very customizable. I wanted more freedom to customize my desktop to what I wanted.