Alternative to youtube: freetube

Now, as you may know by now youtube is blocking adblockers and forcing you to sit through twin 30-second unskippable ads most times you want to watch a video.

Now, to install freetube, you can install it from discover/gnome software for gui method or you could type this in your terminal: flatpak install flathub io.freetubeapp.FreeTube .

Or if you want deb, download it through here: FreeTube - The Private YouTube Client

Glad to help!

Then you are finally free of the tyrannical rule of the evil corporation and their ad partners()

6 Likes

I've been using Freetube for a while as an APPIMAGE.
It works quite well.

If/when some clever dev makes an extension to totally defeat all of yt's BS that will be a very happy day IMO.

2 Likes

I am relatively new to Linux, I've been using Linux for the last four years but never heard about Freetube, that sounds like good way to watch youtube videos without adds, but what I am using is Brave browser and is very efficient on blocking adds on youtube and every web page that I visit. it's also very efficient with using hardware resources, it's not as resource hungry as chrome/chromium.

4 Likes

Welcome @snowman to the community!

1 Like

There's a Flatpak for it if you guys are interested:

Thanks for your contribution @Basil_Cat

I've been using Brave browser without any problems but it's always great to have other FLOSS alternatives :penguin:

1 Like

Nice feature of FreeTube is to use mpv as external Player.
... supports Hardware video acceleration

2 Likes

Term reports "error: No remote refs found for ‘flathub’"

Then, when trying to download the deb...this: "Blocked - Dangerous"

I rarely run into these warnings and errors when downloading FOSS so I'm a bit concerned.

Ubuntu 22.04 & Brave browser.

1 Like

Canonical and Flatpaks are not best friends :smiley:

You can configure your system for Flatpak / Flathub or use the AppImage.

1 Like