Audio Glitching on YouTube/Flash

Hey, total noob here.

Strange problem, whenever I use YouTube, the video works fine, but the audio periodically sounds very glitchy and choppy for a few seconds before behaving normally again.

I’m assuming it’s a Flash problem, but all my Flash software is up to date, and I can’t see any other conventional way to fix it.

Can anyone shed some light? I haven’t been able to find a solution anywhere.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

I use chromium and pepper flash for youtube? Works nice :slight_smile:

Thanks!

I guess it’s just a question of Flash support on whatever browser you’re using.

Just tried it, it’s still making a weird gurgling sound every so often.

I’ve been trying to configure it to work properly all day with no luck.

Hi @ye_ma, you didn’t say which browser your are using.

In Firefox, I have Flash disabled unless specifically needed. Youtube works great with its HTML5 player so I never need it there. Just a thought, in case you weren’t aware how YouTube has been steadily dropping Flash for quite a while now.

Yeah I’m aware of the HTML5 thing, but I remember reading about Flash support being terrible on Linux and thought it would have come down to that. Yeah I was using Firefox but switched over to Chrome, and took the recommendation of installing Pepper Flash Player, but it’s still happening occasionally.

I’m starting to believe it might be a problem with a driver, but I’m just not sure.

Forgive me, I’m new to this, but I’m willing to learn haha

We were all new, once. :slight_smile:

It appears you do have data to support a more general sound issue since Firefox and Chromium do similar. How about HTML5?

Just in case, Firefox Tools -> Add-ons -> Plugins set Flash to “Never activate”. You should then be on HTML5 when you go to YouTube. I right-click on the video to make sure as they have different menus.