Best light and simple Video Editor for Ubuntu Mate?

Hello everyone,
first of all, I hope this is the correct forum.

I work as a Sysadmin and sometimes I need to get video footage from IP security cams and hand it to the people in charge. I need a free and simple (also simple to use) video editor that would allow me to get the normally 1-hour-long video archives and cut them to just the few minutes or clips of interest. If it could also compress it to make it more lightweight to send over network shares, that would be a plus.

So, could someone recommend me one?
Thanks in advance!

I don't know if there's really a best/simple one.
People usually talk about kdenlive (sudo apt install -y kdenlive) and shotcut for small edits.

1 Like

OpenShot is another good one.

https://www.openshot.org/

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll give shotcut a try :smiley:

I used OpenShot last time but it crashed when trying to export into lower quality formats and resolutions. Also it didn't quite feel intuitive. But maybe thats just me, after all I'm not into video editing.

Here is a article ( https://www.xp-pen.com/forum-1595.html ) of 18 free and Paid video editors for Linux OS.

From what you've described, Kdenlive, openShot ,and ShotCut may be right for you.

1 Like

My choice:

• OpenShot for editing & making some video or just for changing a format;

• Lossless Cut for cutting some parts from large video files with keeping the same format.

Hello. Thank you for your question. There are a few different video editors that might work for your needs. I would recommend trying out a few and seeing which works best for you. Some of my favorites include: - Adobe Premiere Pro - Apple Final Cut Pro - Avid Media Composer These professional-grade video editors should have the features you're looking for.

For reference only (please be aware that this thread is 3 years old)

For anyone that stumbles upon this thread in search of a simple video-cutting-tool and converter