Brother printer drivers

Hl all, thanks for all the work that everybodt has put into producing such a great OS.
I can not get a brother HL-1110 printer to print in Ubuntu Mate 16.04. The printer works but puts out a blank page.
I have got it to work properly in Ubuntu 16.04 on another pc
I have downloaded all the driver packages I could find from the Brother Support centre and used the instructions as set out at https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/15
Worked in Ubuntu but not in Mate.
When the terminal gets to the question about the Device URI, you answer N for a USB printer and Y for a network printer, I put in N but it keeps coming back with can’t find any thing on the network
On another Mate pc I get /home/graham/Downloads/linux-brprinter-installer-2.1.1-1(1): unknown suffix – ignored
graham@grahampc1:~/Downloads$
I’m not very good at terminal work and if the given commands don’t work i’m stuffed
Any help would be appreciated
Thanks
Graham

Hallo Gege

You may have already tried this - if not it may help.

a)
Does your printer have a fixed IP-address?

b)
If not, do you know how to give it one?

c)
Have you tried setting up the printer using the fixed IP-address?

Please answer each question separately as this will help us to give you specific advice.

If you’ve tried that approach then I’m out of ideas. I use HP printers because they are usually a safe bet when using Linux systems. :slight_smile:

Hi alpinejohn, my answers are no to all questions but if i’m using a usb cable to connect the printer, i didn’t think it would have an IP-address
Thanks

Quite so Gege.

Connecting via usb could be a problem that you might not get around. Have you tried looking for drivers on the “asian” websites - they sometimes have different version that may work better.

If usb fails is a “network” connection a possibility for you?

(I won’t be back on the forum for at least 24 hours…)

There is no Wifi on this little cheapy
thanks for you input
Cheers