Camera not working

Hi all, I recently started using a Linux PC and after trying out quite a few Distros, I landed on Ubuntu MATE as the final one. One of the main reason was everything just worked right after the install, well everything except for one thing which is really no biggie if it ever does but I’d like to give it a try. I am very new to Ubuntu MATE so please bear with me. I have an older MSi Wind U100 Plus netbook that I still love to use. In fact it looks the same today as it did brand spanking new. Sure it’s old technology to some, but I love it. The thing that does not work with Ubuntu MATE is the camera. It worled fine under windows, so I know it is a driver issue. Any suggestions and if there is a driver where and how do I install it? Thanks!!!

Hello
Is your camera detected at all?
If not, have you checked your BIOS settings? (Sometimes you can kill hardware from the BIOS)
Have you gone through the “Drivers” step in Welcome -> Getting Started ?
Cheers

It cannot find the camera and yes on the set-up settings.

I haven’t checked the bios setting, so I’ll give that a try later this evening.

Hi @Dillinger63,

do you have Skype installed and have you checked the Video settings there?:

Do you see the cam in the output of lsusb (in a terminal)?

Also, can you give the output of dmesg after a fresh boot?

No Skype installed as I don’t use it and to the other poster that asked if I checked the camera in the set-up settings when you first boot the computer, there aren’t any options for the camera.

As asked for; open a terminal and enter:

lsusb

another way

inxi -b

I just saw your reply on this so I’ll try it. Thanks!

1 Like

I typed that in and I receove the message No command ‘1usb’ found did you mean Command
1usb from package usbutils (main)

You misread his command suggestion. I’ll type this in capitals, you enter the command in lower case letters.

LSUSB

You should enter lsusb