Capella (MIDI) problems under Wine

I have just installed Ubuntu MATE 16.04 64bit on a friend’s computer. He was previously using a 32bit computer and he ran “Capella” - a music score program under Wine, it worked very well (I think I had to fix a font but that was all). Now Wine 64 won’t install (missing dependencies) and the 32 bit version runs Capella but it won’t play music. What would be my best approach to solving this?

It’s urgent for him as he has work he needs to do - and it’s awkward for me as I don’t want to have to put him back onto his old 32bit computer - especially since I have promised it to someone else.

Hallo ChrisofBristol

I’m not a musician and I haven’t used the following software myself (I read about it in the latest edition of “LinuxWelt” 2/2017 page 63), so I don’t know if it will solve the problem at hand.

###Frescobaldi
profesional editor for music scores

http://frescobaldi.org

Hope it helps your friend. :slight_smile:

Try Looking up Musescore as well. I play a little and found it very handy.
Rob

I’d never got Wine (32 bit) to run anything, so I originally suggested that he should switch to MuseScore, but he was adamant that he didn’t want to learn any new software, so I have to use Wine + Capella.

I’ve just got him to install “Timidity” and it works!

It’s a bit disappointing that 64bit Wine won’t install though, as it has missing dependencies.

Hi @ChrisOfBristol,

you can get a tar package here:

https://polarsys.org/capella/download.html

He’s already got Capella installed. Another thing I’ve never managed to get to work :grinning: is those tar.gz packages, they seem to require compiling, which require installing a compiler, which then don’t seem to work anyway. I stick to .debs, thanks anyway.

To those who suggested Linux music score packages, MuseScore looks very good to me (not a musician), but he doesn’t want to learn any new software unfortunately!