Colour problems with Yaru theme

Hi all:

I recently upgraded several computers from Ubuntu MATE 20.04.5 to 22.04.1, and I started having colour problems with the Yaru theme. For details, see: Text selection color problem with Tk applications · Issue #3767 · ubuntu/yaru · GitHub

There is one thing I would like somebody here to at least confirm. When I open "Control Center", "Appearance", theme "Custom" (the first theme in the list) is selected, even though I never customised anything in this respect.

If I then click on another theme, like "Yaru-bark", then the "Custom" theme is selected again. However, a second click on "Yaru-bark" does make it selected.

Say I close the "Appearance" window, and open it again. Then the "Custom" theme is selected again!

If I then install package mate-themes, I get other themes like "Menta". I believe that those are GTK 2 themes, but I am no expert in this area. In any case, they behave differently: when I select one of those themes, then the "Custom" theme disappears, and there is no strange behaviour anymore.

Can someone at least confirm this behaviour?

Thanks in advance,
rdiez

custom assumes you will make changes to the current theme and save that. If you had made no changes in Custom then the current theme displayed is the same as you picked previously and custom is the same theme as well, providing you don't change the custom theme, at which point that would stay as custom theme until you save and name it.

2 Likes

First of all, thanks for your answer confirming what I am seeing. Follow-up questions are:

a) Is this behaviour not counterintuitive?

b) Why is that "Custom" theme behaviour not happening with all themes?

I just tried "Numix" (package numix-gtk-theme), of which website states "GTK+ 3.18 or above", and it does not do that.

hmmm. not sure it does it for all the themes I have installed and I have more than just the preinstalled ones

This one has the same behaviour as Yaru:

• 'Arc' (package arc-theme)