Connecting to wifi not possible: I can't see my wireless network in the list

I recently got a Raspberry PI 3B and i installed Ubuntu MATE 16.04 on it. Everything worked fine and I could connect to my wifi network.

However, after a day or 2 all of a sudden the raspberry didn’t connect to my wifi anymore. My network is not listed in the wireless networks, whereas all other networks around me are still visible. Also, other computers and smartphones have no issues connecting to the wifi. It is just the raspberry.

I tried the following things without any success:

1. restarted raspberry pi
  2. restarted the router
  3. moved my raspberry pi system closer to the router (I thought it might be out of range)
  4. Reconnected via ‘hidden networks’
  5. Manually connected via terminal
  6. Updateded raspberry via apt-get
  7. Reinstalling ubuntu MATE on the micro sd card

I am fairly new to ubuntu and at the moment I ran out of ideas what might be causing the problem and possible solutions. I searched for solutions in this community and in general online, but I barely found any useful results.

What can be the cause of this issue and how can I fix it?

Hi @Gendow,

take a look here which might help you?:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WirelessTroubleShootingGuide/Connections

Hi @Gendow, your description comes closest to what I experienced. Thanks for asking this!

I have used my RPi3 and its built in wireless heavily recently. For a month or so. I noticed that it (the wireless of the pi) doesn’t like the wireless router to be turned off on powering up the raspi at all. Once I turned the raspi on while the wlan was turned off and I couldn’t get it to function this day. Because I was busy I left it to it. Next day it would work again. Without any actions taken. Apart from turning the wireless on first!