Converting between ubuntus

I’ve installed ubuntu mate on my desktop and I love the way it looks, i’m running the newest version of ubuntu on my laptop as well but it is not mate. Is there any way to convert to ubuntu mate from normal ubuntu, without it being buggy if you didn’t install it that way to begin with? I’m still new to linux just wondering. Thanks for reading.

It is kind of possible, but not really. Personally I don’t recommend it. :expressionless:

1 Like

I have Ubuntu Mate 1.8 desktop installed on top of Ubuntu Studio 14.04.2 LTS 32 bit (which comes with the Xubuntu desktop). There is quite a bit of tidying up to do following the installation of the UM 1.8 desktop. But it is quite do-able. I guess it comes down to how nerdy you are and how prepared you are to get your hands dirty fiddling around with settings. For me, this is not a problem as I am an inveterate nerd. For saner people, the costs of the requirements to fiddle around outweigh any potential benefits.

So, you just have to decide how a big a nerd you are… :grinning:

1 Like

It’s not exactly an easy task (nor recommended) to “convert” from one distro to another in a few simple clicks, but you can install a “meta” package that provide you with the same desktop and software found in Ubuntu MATE.

You’ll get the least amount of problems later though if you install Ubuntu MATE from scratch… but if you insist:

1. Open the terminal, either via the Ubuntu dash or by pressing CTRL+ALT+T.

2. Type the following:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-mate-desktop
    This installs the desktop and software as seen in Ubuntu MATE, keeping your existing files, software and Ubuntu’s Unity desktop. It’s not a true conversion, since you’ll still have the Ubuntu splash and login screen for instance. To use this new environment, select the Ubuntu symbol at the login screen and choose “MATE”.

I will say I haven’t tested this package myself, but it works for other flavours like Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Lubuntu, etc.