Display differences between Ubuntu and Ubuntu Mate

I'm new to Mate but not Linux. I'm using 20.10 on an AMD FX(tm)-8120 with a GeForce GTX 1070 Ti NVIDA card.

The only non-open source software that I use is Mathematica (12.2), which I use extensively. The issue is that I get unwanted horizontal lines just below the cell that I'm working on which sometimes interfere with what I'm doing. This doesn't happen with standard Ubuntu. Below is a shortlist of installs that have worked and ones that gave me the issue:

Kubuntu (20.04): Mathematica issues with unwanted horizontal lines
Gnome desktop installed on my Kubuntu: Mathematica worked but I had all kinds of other KDE/Gnome issues
Ubuntu Mate(20.10): Mathematica issues with unwanted horizontal lines

I would really like to stay with Ubuntu Mate but I have to solve the Mathematica issue.

Can anyone point me to what to look for in the differences in the display manages between Gnome 3 and (Kubuntu and Ubuntu Mate)? What are some things that I can try? I'm stuck because I do not even know what question I should be asking.

Hi and welcome to the Ubuntu MATE community.
Would you mind sharing a screenshot of what you call "unwanted horizontal lines" ? Are these graphical glitches ?
Do you use Nvidia proprietary drivers or Nouveau open source drivers ?

Have you tried another window manager in MATE Tweak ? (Marco - no compositor)
Have you tried installing other window managers like Compton or Compiz (you can select them in MATE Tweak once installed) ?

Here are the unwanted lines:

The only place I'm having issues is with Mathematica. The other common programs that I use are, emacs, Mate terminal, google chrome, and firefox.
I'm using the Nvidia proprietary drivers. The intent for the graphics card is for ML work.

From your suggestion I have tried:
Marco (Compton GPU compositor)
Compiz (Advanced GPU accelerated desktop effects)
Marco (Adaptive compositor)
Marco (No compositor)