Failing to copy large file to external drive

Hi, sorry to state the obvious but I am new to Ubuntu Mate, coming over from the Windows world. I have been trying to copy a large VirtualBox vdi file to an external drive. I have tried this on two separate external drives but keep getting the same fail. Oftent at 53.4 GB of 68.7 GB the copy process fails and says: "Error splicing file: Input/output error". I then tried formatting one of the drives to Ext4 (from NTFS) and got the same fail at 8.1 GB. I decided to try booting from my live Ubuntu-mate USB and try the same thing. Failed at 53.4 GB. Can anyone give me any direction?

I have had that problem with large files going to external drives. It seemed to me to be perhaps a problem with buffer over/under run to the USB devices.

What worked for me was using rsync instead of cp to move files. You can get a progress indicator with rsync also, and you can do various check and recovery options (man rsync) YMMV. I never worked further on the details of why.

1 Like

I googled your error message and found this short video. I have no idea if it will work but it's a quick fix if it does.

Thank you. I am currently inept at the command line. But something else I tried did not work so I might have to look into the rsync process.

Well, that certainly did seem to be a similar problem. Sadly it did not work. Still failed at 53.4 GB

I don't know what container a .vdi file is--but if it is only one file as far as the filesystem goes, it should be as simple as
$rsync -avvz --progress <sourcedir>/<sourcefile> <destdir>/

I'm guessing your <destdir> is something like /media/<username>/<deviceid>

You would open a terminal (Ctl-Alt-T usually). $ls -la will list dir contents. $cd will change directory. So to find out your destination mount point you could:
plug the disk in
open a terminal
$cd /media/<username>
$ls -la
make note of the disk's device id
$cd <path>/<to>/<vdi file>