Feature Request: Allow Mate-Teak to support more WM

I use Wine for playing games in fullscreen and I have issues with Marco and Compiz, I always use “Openbox” because games fullscreen properly and I don’t have any tearing.

1 Like

Hi @UKBEAST_89,

This looks pretty straight forward. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have been a fan of OB (LXDE) forever :slight_smile: and like the idea of adding it to mate-tweak. Not being a developer I do not know just how feasible this is. Maybe @lah7 could comment on this.

Well, I haven’t ever touched MATE Tweak (@Wimpy would be better to ask), but I imagine it’s certainly possible – just like Compiz and Compton were added. My guess is finding the time to implement another WM and make it work well with the MATE Desktop. :thumbsup:

1 Like

I wanted to use openbox just for wine because compiz does not render fullscreen correctly and I have problems with cursor focus under mutter, openbox doesn’t have these issues.

This was taken from Linux Mint 17.3 release notes (see below). I don’t use Linux Mint because I think they are too attached to their brand instead of providing as much value as possible. However, I do think they do great work. For them the LTS strategy is brilliant.

"The “Desktop Settings” tool now supports more window and compositing managers. Other than the traditional Marco, Metacity and Xfwm4 window managers, you’ll find the following options:

Openbox: A very fast and very light window manager.
Compiz: One of the most visually impressive window manager available for Linux.
Compton: A compositing manager which can be used in complement of Marco, Metacity, Xfwm4 or Openbox.

A new help section was added to explain various concepts around window managers and compositing."

https://www.linuxmint.com/rel_rosa_mate_whatsnew.php

1 Like