Grub boot menu shows Windows 10 Loader on Ubuntu mate none dual boot

Hi, i’ve been using UM (Excellent OS) for a few months now which was a clean install onto my Toshiba C660 laptop about 5/6 yrs old, i3, 8gb ram, 500gb hybrid drive, and after a couple of initial problems i managed to get it running fine & today i installed some updates using Software Updater but after a restart i started getting the Grub Boot Menu showing up & 1 of the options is Windows 10 (Loader) which i don’t understand considering the only OS installed is UM & no dual boot. I have tried hiding grub using Pluma etc/default/grub but the 2 listings are already set at: GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0 & _QUIET=TRUE, so i installed Grub-Customizer & unchecked both Show Menu & Look for another Operating System, this seems to have worked for now but can anyone suggest an alternative fix or why it happened.

Your help would be appreciated, cheers.

Hi @davson723,

did you fully format the HDD before installation or did you leave MBR still intact?. Did you select a different location for Grub different to dev/sda/?. :smiley:

1 Like

Hi wolfman,

Thanks for your reply, i deleted all partitions till i had unallocated space on the HDD & assigned new partition & “Letter” followed by format in Disk Management & i allowed the default installation of UM which i believe carries out another format.

From the sounds of a format from within Windows’ Disk Management, there’s still an OEM, a hidden, or a recovery partition.

Boot up a live CD/USB and open GParted from System → Administration. A completely clean default install would only have a partition for Ubuntu MATE and the other as swap.

If you find any NTFS or FAT32 partitions, you can delete them. When you next boot Ubuntu MATE, run this command to update the boot loader entries:

sudo update-grub

If there isn’t any leftovers, this would be very strange indeed.

Hi lah7,