GRUB prompt on boot

This is my first post in this amazing community (but I’ve been using Linux for 9 yrs now), and I am so excited to see your smiling faces!

Background:

I have been running Ubuntu MATE without any problems on this very laptop for a little over a year now. I originally installed 16.04 LTS and then later this year upgraded to 18.04 LTS, without any problems. Everything was working great!

Issue:

It all started, when I decided to upgrade the HDD in my Lenovo V570 with a SSD. Every-time I boot my computer, I go to GRUB prompt. Even when I manually chose to boot from my SSD. But to my luck, I stumbled upon this post - except in my case, I was not seeing grub rescue prompt, but grub prompt instead.

So now, I always have to run following commands on GRUB prompt, every single time I boot my computer, but at-least I am making some progress! (What progress? A post explaining what was happening before I deleted MBR, and why I had to do it. )

grub> root=(hd0,gpt2)
grub> configfile /boot/grub/grub.cf

After booting into my system, I did this, but the issue still persists:

me@me-devhost:~$ sudo grub-install /dev/sda
[sudo] password for me: 
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
Installation finished. No error reported.

me@me-devhost:~$ sudo update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Warning: Setting GRUB_TIMEOUT to a non-zero value when GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT is set is no longer supported.
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-23-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-23-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-20-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-20-generic
done
me@me-devhost:~$

More details:

https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-laptop-and-netbook-25/grub-mbr-and-ssd-upgrade-4175633671/#post5877577

Ping back: Ask Ubuntu Stack Exchange post