Help needed expanding allocated space on Dual-boot system

Hi,
I've tried searching for a solution to no avail.
I have successfully shrunk my Windows partition and freed up some space.
Everything is working fine.
I've created a bootable MATE USB and attempted to claim the freed up space using Gparted.
Unfortunately it only allows me to move Partition 2 to the left of the Unallocated space. Partitions 4/5 cannot then also be moved to the left in order to expand them eventhough the Unallocated space is then directly to their left.
At this stage i've put Partition 2 back where it was.
Maybe it's because 4 and 5 are nested? (Not my intentional preference, just the way it ended up on installation.)
I am very new to Linux and followed an online guide somewhere when initially setting up the dual-boot. I wish i'd originally allocated a lot more space to it.
In case it's relevant, i initially installed MATE 20.04 and have since updated to 20.10.
Any help anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jon

I suspect partition 4 and partition 5 are inside an extended partition so you cannot individually move them. Imagine an extended partition is a box that contains other boxes (p4 and p5). Google for gparted and extended partitions to figure out the process.

2 Likes

Maybe this might help:

or this one:

[SOLVED] move extended partition with gparted

so

1. move partition 2 to the left
    Partition 4 can indeed not be moved (5 is indeed nested in 4)
    but it can be expanded to the left
  2. resize(expand) partition 4 to the left (this is the extended partition that contains partition 5)
  3. resize(expand) partition 5 to the left
1 Like

I'll give it a try. Thanks.

Thanks for the help.

From what i can see, i can't seem to expand partition 4 to the left.
Partition 2 moves fine but partition 4 doesn't seem to recognise the unallocated space to it's left afterwards. So i can't move it or expand it.