[HELP]Upgrading to 15.04 broke my system pretty much

I know,I might be posting in the wrong section(98% chances.)

But first of all,I got to say “Hello” to this community,I’m quite new to Linux,and I love it more then I’ve been expecting.
For now,I have ran into a problem… I updated my distro to 15.04 from 13 I think(I had Ubuntu Mate on a CD from a few months ago,and finally decided to give it a try).

I updated it via Terminal with the help of this tutorial.

And now when I open my laptop,I get some errors “A program is not working”(something similar to this) and 2 buttons,which are “Close”(Or cancel) and “Report problem”(As a good citizen that I am,I reported all of them Dx).

My Wifi signal icon that is located in the task bar is … Offline,showing 0 lines,and that I have no internet connection(but its actually working).
I can’t set my desktop brightness… neither I am able to take a screenshot of my desktop via PrtSc button.
And many more similar things like this…

If a mod could move this to a section where its belongs,I would be more then pleased.
Have a nice day and thanks for the according time,I’ll leave more reply’s with extra info if needed.

Edit : And by the way,“Enable Networking” is offline for me as well :).

Welcome, you’ve come to the right place. :slight_smile:

You say you upgraded from 13.04 (or 13.10) to 15.04 – are you sure? Ubuntu MATE was only introduced for 14.04, so is this an Ubuntu + MATE install? 15.10 is also the latest version, in case you mean this version.

“Program has stopped working” dialog

If it’s a dialog that appears with the checkbox to send a bug report, that’s apport. One of the programs or services running on your system had crashed, and you’ve got the opportunity to see why it’s crashed and which one it was. Sometimes this message can be harmless, it depends what exactly had crashed. If it persistently pops up, then we’ve got a problem.

Network Applet Problems