How do I customize the lock screen?

Dear Fellow Ubuntu Mates,

I have been trying hard to find a way to customize the lock screen. My setup is Ubuntu 19.10

Loving Mate 19.10 till now, but customization has hit a problem.

I do find ways to change the desktop background. However, I want to customize the lock screen itself. The buttons and the lock screen dialog itself is not customizable. I have not found a way to do this.

I want to change the lock dialog and not the login dialog. I am a programmer and can write/change code (haven't done that in the past but ready for it).

Any help guidance, or pointing to a resource - highly appreciated.

Check out the following page -

and tell us if it meets your needs.

No this doesn't serve the purpose.

I want to 'customize' the lock-screen. I am not content with just modifying the background.

The applied themes and icon and window borders must also apply on the lock screen dialog.

Please check my lockscreen - its plain boring, uninviting: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3s8nvji7h5asza1/IMG_20200111_0850200.jpg

May be this would be better:

Hope you find whatever you're looking for. Good luck ksmanu.

You may want to check out mate-screensaver on github, the source code and configuration files are there.

Good luck

1 Like

I have started with downloading the mate-screensaver code base and setting up the environement. Howver setting up and building the source code is an uphill challenge as of now. Any help to start would be helpful.

Update: got the start
sudo apt install build-essentials git
downloaded mate-scrensaver code. added source repositories in software and updates and thereafter did a sudo apt install build-dep mate-screensaver.
it was simple to make and install it.

Now looking at the source code.

Then will have a look at how to work with custom styling. That shall be the real challenge, I guess.