How to connect Wifi network on RPi-3

I am new to Ubuntu Mate. I just installed it on my RPi-3. But I cannot connect my home network. What are the steps? What is the app to do it?

Hi @athena,

what chipset does the WiFI adapter have?.

If you are using Ubuntu Mate, have you looked in the Control Centre > Additional Drivers tool?. :smiley:

There is built in WiFi on RPi3.

My installations worked for this distro on RPi3 using WiFi with no trouble - but the getting it working when changing between wired and wireless was a bit tricky. I’m afraid that my memeory doesn’t give me the exact path I used to get stuff working, but it did involve using the network bits in control panel and rebooting (sometimes I have had to fudge the routing to get to the internet)

Hi @dandnsmith,

try this terminal command first so we can see what the hardware is, please post back the results here:

lspci -nnk | grep net -A2

You will end up with something like the following!:

wolfman@fred11:~$ lspci -nnk | grep net -A2
00:07.0 Bridge [0680]: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Ethernet [10de:03ef] (rev a2)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company MCP61 Ethernet [103c:2a99]
Kernel driver in use: forcedeth
Kernel modules: forcedeth
wolfman@fred11:~$

Hello Wolfman,

Thank you for your help. This is what I have:
root@RPO-Ubuntu:~# lspci -nnk | grep net -A2
pcilib: Cannot open /proc/bus/pci
lspci: Cannot find any working access method.

This wifi works under Jessy without any problem!

So what’s missing?

Hello all,

I managed to connect to my wifi network!. I guess after several restarts it worked. I ma not sure what fixit it though. Wolfman’s lspci command still returns “cannot open/find…”

Thank you all.

1 Like

Hi @athena,

I marked it as solved, it may have been an update that solved it for you?, did you do any updates via a cable connection?. :slight_smile:

Hello Wolfman,