Hp8600 Officejet Pro & Ubuntu Mate 16.04 - lost on re-boot

I am new to this, I have installed Ubuntu Mate 16.04 on an IBM thinkcentre m51 using the above printer. I installed the hplip package as instructed by the os. My printer showed up, printed a test page (first problem - no color), and when I reboot the system I have to re-enter the "hp-setup ip address command to re-connect w/printer. I am looking to get away from windows os forever and this is the 1st distro I found I could work with. Any suggestions or places to check would be appreciated in advance. Running the windows install cd thru Wine/winetricks fails.

Hallo

Questions:
Are you using this printer as a network (conected printer), either via a LAN-cable or on a wireless network?

If you are, have you assigned a fixed IP-address to this printer?

If you have not yet assigned a fixed IP-address to this printer go into your router administration software and set a fixed IP-address for the printer. I believe that this is the information you are being asked for.

If on the other hand you have conected the printer to your computer via a USB-cable I’ve no idea what’s going on. If this is the case I would suggest you try adding the printer via the printers dialogue in the control centre.

I use an OKI network printer (LAN) and a HP inkjet via USB. I have used an HP via LAN before though (briefly). :slight_smile:

I am using the 8600 as a network printer. I do have a USB cable for it tho. Also, I am attempting to “share” the printer between 2 different computers (both on wireless), maybe I should USB the IBM m51 and leave the other as wireless. That would just leave the lack of color for the Mate system.

One other response. I did get an IP address to use on Mate, when I reboot, I use the “hp-setup (ip address)” and the 8600 is found, will then print, but no color what so ever.

Hallo

I don’t “do” wireless - I have a thing for nice cables. So all aspects “wireless” will need someone else to help.