I cant find my wifi network in ubuntu-mate-23.10

so this is my first time using Linux OS, so idk anything about it, i cant find any wifi network, i cant even copy screenshot to usb drive cuz the png file is not in drive when i remove it and plug it in the pc, pls help

1 Like

Welcome @ahmad1 to the community!

1 Like

People need a lot more information to help you.

What Ubuntu Mate edition did you install? Where did you download the iso file? Did you check the checksums? What computer make and model did you install to? Do you know the make of your wireless card? Is WIFI turned on in your bios?

That kind of detailed information will get you help.

B

1 Like

thx, i will edit the post later

how to check checksums? idk what is that

Go to this page which is the official release page and only download from here::

Pick one of the two available downloads, I would choose 22.04.4 LTS which has an EOL (end of life) of April 2025
Unless you have a torrent you will have to do a direct download
Scroll down the page it will say:
### Verify your download
Checking data integrity provides assurance your download is free from tampering and corruption.

Filename ubuntu-mate-22.04.4-desktop-amd64.iso
SHA256SUM 09f52b8bac46e3cf07e90bc4ed9f3dd1a0efe0ff3fc65d9edd8c639cb6dcb391

There will be a hyperlink: 'How to verify downloads', read it and verify your download.

Then pick a .iso extractor and burner like Rufus or Etcher both work well, but their are others.

Once you have burned the .iso to a USB drive, run it as a live USB (try Ubuntu) and see that everything works, like WIFI, Mouse and keyboard. If everything is okay, then install to your computer. If things are not working come back here and list your make, model, what program you used to burn the .iso file and what is giving you problems. There should be someone knowledgeable enough to help you.
It probably won't be me though, I am not that knowledgeable on WIFI.

3 Likes