I Love Ubuntu Mate...I Dislike VLC Media Player

I love Ubuntu Mate 16.04. It is just right for my old HP Mini 210 4000. I customized a lot of the look of my desktop and login start-up. And I installed a lot of apps from the repositories and most of it run excellently. And the best part is it took just 15 GB from my partitioned 53GB just for ubuntu. I know its tiny, but at first, I only installed this lovely Linux distro just to test it but now I am seriously thinking of using it for a long time.

One thing about this OS pre-installed app called VLC media player. I’ve been using it since 2004 because it loads up any video format without a hitch. But a couple of years now, I am really exasperated with this app. It lags when it plays some video formats especially MKV files, most times I only hear the audio no video. At other times I only see gray areas on the screen. In my Windows OS I recently shifted from VLC to Media Player Classic because it played all my videos compared to this VLC. Nowadays, VLC Media Player sucks big time for me. I am really looking forward when Media Player Classic developers will make a Linux version of their app so I can get rid of VLC once and for all.

1 Like

You can also try SMPlayer with mpv. SMPlayer is the frontend for the latter. Ignore the default skin that will probably give you nightmares and go to settings to configure the player to your liking. It’s wonderful, consumes less resources and plays everything.

As for VLC, it may take a little while longer for some distro maintainers to feel comfortable about taking it out of their default media player. The growing complaints of VLC users will eventually lead to it losing ground to other solutions, if the videolan team keeps down this path. For now however it remains the most used.

8 Likes

@marfig,