Install on 512k eMac G4

I have got a 2005 17" CRT eMac G4 with 512k ram running 10.4 Tiger and I am thinking of putting Ubuntu Mate on it. I already use it on my Raspberry Pi and on some old intel based notebooks at work (I am a teacher). I am excited about getting this going but only have a 10.3 install disk for the eMac so wouldn’t be able to go back to Tiger easily. Also the Superdrive is broken so I will have to use another mac in Target mode to do the install. Basically I only want to do this if there is a reasonable chance of it working properly. I would love to hear success stories and advice about how to fix any likely faults

I say don´t do this!

Do not install under 2GB RAM, 128MB Graphics and at least g4 1.5Ghz (better use dual-G5)

For your eMac, I suggest to try out “MorphOS 3.9”, chances are, your Hardware is supported (there is a list)

Cheers!

Thanks Elowan, looks like I can upgrade to 2Gb ram and it has 1.25Ghz so almost strong enough for Mate.

Yeah, this should work / install - but do not expect things to be “snappy” and very responsive.

Got it running on MacMini 1.42Ghz 1GB RAM and it was crawling along… on a 1.67Ghz 2GB PowerBook, it was running ok (just tried from live DVD). Fastest till today was my DualCore G5 with 7GB RAM, tried the 15.10. live DVD (because my 16.04 beta does not work) and it was really fast.

So, yeah - I think it would run somehow (if your graphics Card is supported), but not as fluent as OS X