Installing and Applying Different Cursor Themes?

Hello all. I'm a newbie so take it easy on me and thanks in advance for as much detail as your patience will allow!

I've downloaded a couple of cursor packs that I'd like to try out. Could someone walk me through how to do that with 20.04? I've looked up the process on a couple of other sites and the "gnome-tweak" tool comes up a lot. I installed that and it did not include the tools to "add cursors" or adjust size or color or anything of that nature. Being that Cursors and their icons are likely sort of "all over the place" depending on the processes they're supporting I figured it might be wise to check with someone way more advanced than I am! One of the packages has numerous size options, 24/36, etc and I really like the look of them. I run a dark theme and thought this would be sharp and stand out a bit. Check 'em out: https://www.gnome-look.org/p/999804/

Anyway, thanks again for your time and help & please remember, I could really use the help to be by the numbers until I get my command line chops back and familiarize myself with this distro. Thanks!

Hi @JingaNinja ! Welcome to the forum !

I hope you enjoy ubuntu mate ! :slight_smile:

For the cursors, you need to move them inside /usr/share/icons like this :

β”Œβ”€[olek@lenovo_apbook04u]─[/usr/share/icons/Adwaita]
└──╼ $ls
16x16  24x24    32x32  512x512  8x8    cursor.theme      index.theme  scalable-up-to-32
22x22  256x256  48x48  64x64    96x96  icon-theme.cache  scalable

To move them, you can use terminal and the sudo cp command or open caja with sudo : sudo caja and just copy paste the folders inside /usr/share/icons

Try to arrange to respect the simple i sent and they should appear inside here :

Tell us if its ok ! :slight_smile: