Introduction Thread

So, how about a thread for new users to introduce themselves, build a community and get to know each other?

I’m Matt Kelley. By day I’m a mild-mannered operations manager for an electrical supply house in Panama City Beach, FL… All other times I’m a desktop linux user and open-source software enthusiast.

I run linux exclusively on my PC, and have for several years. I have a fondness for MATE and for the Ubuntu base, so seeing them both together is a beautiful thing.

@Wimpy If you’d rather start this thread and take first intro, please do. It’d only be fair with all the work you have put into this. Then I’ll kill this thread and repost in yours :smiley:

5 Likes

Why not…

I’m Chris Gardiner-Bill, a technical writer and developer by profession, working for an Australian financial data management company. I also moonlight as a novelist using the pen name, Chris Rosser.

I’ve used Gnu/Linux since 2005 in supporting roles but around the same time I switched to Mac OS X as my daily driver owing to the platform’s popularity in the publishing industry. I always maintained an interest in Linux though, in particular the Ubuntu family. I made the full-time switch to Linux in mid 2014 (for many, many reasons) and at time of writing, all my computers exclusively run Ubuntu Mate.

Ubuntu Mate is my distro of choice across all my computers because it respects the traditional desktop metaphor and it scales very well on the range of hardware I use.

I really enjoy being a member of the Ubuntu Mate community because of its enthusiasm, helpfulness and the lack of vitriol and flames that abound in other communities. I became a patreon because I felt that the project and the community was worthy of support and I’ll also endeavour to contribute with code and writing wherever I can.

3 Likes