Logitech Media Server Installation

I'm sorry, I'm new in linux use.
I've installed Ubuntu Mate on an old notebook (emachines e525) ad it works very well.
Then, I've tried to install Logitech Media Server
I've downloaded the file .deb at this page: My Media - Welcome to mysqueezebox.com!. I clicked on it to install with "snap store". At the end, snap store tell me that it's installed, but I haven't any way to find it. Nothing in the menu, in the list "installed" it doesn't appear, but with the same "snap store", at the end of installation, I could remove the software, and I did it, always without know "where" it was.
Please help me

1 Like

Welcome @clap to the community!

1 Like

You should select "Debian/Ubuntu Linux x86_64", then, click "Download ..." button, Save it, open the folder, open a terminal from there, issue command:

sudo dpkg -i logitechmediaserver_8.3.1_amd64.deb

Finally, issue command:

sudo apt -f install

It's done! You should be able to open this program.

2 Likes

Dear NĂ©stor A.C.
thank you very much for your help
I tried to install with the command you suggested but terminal gave me this message back (sorry if it's in Italian but I’m not able to translate it):

Preparativi per estrarre logitechmediaserver_8.3.1_amd64.deb...
Estrazione di logitechmediaserver (8.3.1)...
dpkg: problemi con le dipendenze impediscono la configurazione di logitechmediaserver:
logitechmediaserver dipende da libcrypt-openssl-rsa-perl; tuttavia:
Il pacchetto libcrypt-openssl-rsa-perl non è installato.
dpkg: errore nell'elaborare il pacchetto logitechmediaserver (--install):
problemi con le dipendenze - lasciato non configurato
Si sono verificati degli errori nell'elaborazione:
logitechmediaserver

Then, I tried to launch “debian package installer” but it told me to run, in a terminal:

sudo apt-get install -f