Logitech Wingman Attack 3 joystick not working

Hi, this will be the 5th time that I try Mate distro in my life because I hate Windows with a passion and I want to be Windows free for the remainder of my life.
That being said, after installation I connected my Logitech Attack 3 joystick and nothing happened???
No "New hardware found", and "Software Installed"......
Then I started looking through internet searches, even went to Logitech, NO software download for this product.
So what I found was too technical for me like building my own drivers.................
Out of my reach, no way.

So I ask, what am I to do?
If Linux wants more people to drop Windows, you gotta have plug and play because I am not a programmer and to old to learn.
And if my memory is correct, the 4 previous times I tried Linux I ended up with about the same problem (hardware relayted) and just deleted the drive.

Please someone tell me "you can find the drivers here".........
Or here is an easy solution.....
If I can't use my joystick on Linux I will be erasing the drive for the last time.

I pray someone has the solution,
Thanking everyone in advance,
Rusty.

You should not need separate joystick drivers. Joystick support is built into Linux (and has been for 10+ years).

First we need to find the USB device ids of the Logitech Attack 3 joystick. Open the terminal and type:

lsusb 

Linux should attach drivers based on the USB device ids.
What do you get for the device ids?

djb

3 Likes

Hi and welcome to the Ubuntu MATE Community

About your joystick:

• There's no notification when you hook up something (not storage related) in this distro and there's generally no need to install any software for your hardware to work.

A quick "Logitech Wingman Attack 3 Linux" search brought me this:

• It appears that your device has been supported in the Linux Kernel since Linux 2.6 (ages ago) and should be recognized out of the box according to some forums. Here's one: