MacBook Pro not recognizing live USB - Ubuntu Mate 18.10

Recently moved my MacBook Air over to Ubuntu Mate and had absolutely no issues. Love Mate!

However, we also have a MacBook Pro that I have tried everything I can to get it to load but when booting and holding down the alt/Option key, the USB is not recognized. I only see the HDD and the Recovery disk.

The USB is fine, I have tried it on other Apple computers that I have yet to move over, the key is being recognized in the MBP Finder as “Generic Flash Drive” through Disk Utility so I know it’s not the key. I have tried both USB ports upon booting and although the key is recognized in Finder on both, it won’t show up on the boot menu.

Specs on the MBP are:
13", mid 2009
Processor: 2.53GHz, Intel Core Duo
Memory: 4GB, 1067 MHz, DDR3
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, 256MB

I am not a techie by any stretch but would appreciate any advice anyone can provide. I have read about rEFInd but not really sure what that is or how to get it installed.

The community has been terrific to view over and look forward to you coming through for me again!

Thanks in advance.

My main home computer is almost the same (mine’s the late 2008 aluminum MacBook, so same specs but removable battery and no FW port). A long time ago I had to use rEFInd to get it to load Ubuntu flash drives, but not for 3 or 4 years. Now they show normally in the boot menu.

How are you creating the flash drive? I find that using dd in the terminal (Mac or Linux) works best, or using Gnome Disks in Ubuntu.

Also, when I’ve successfully created a bootable Linux drive, it will not show up in Finder. When I insert it, I’ll get a message offering to reformat it, and Disk Utility will see it. (Fedora is different.) But maybe you mean the drive shows up when it is formatted differently.

Thanks for the reply elcste.

Downloaded .iso from this site (Ubuntu Mate, 64bit, 18.10 Cosmic), used etcher to flash the USB drive and write.