Mate will not launch some programs

Ubuntu 18.04 with current updates: For several months, I had used ClipIt as my go to clipboard manager with Mate 1.22.2. Then one day, it behaved like it launched from the Action Bar, but didn't. Or if it did, it wasn't visible. I'd click on it 6-7 times and the icon would expand out like normal, but the program would never launch. Launching it from the App menu was the same. Could not find the symptoms or the issue anywhere online. Finally gave up and uninstalled the app.

Then installed (using Software Manager) CopyQ. Same problem. It acts like it's launching, but it never shows up on the screen.

Anyone have a clue of what's going on? I'm no expert so please walk me though a test if you will.

Thanks!

Welcome to Ubuntu MATE community!
Thank you for your interest.

Then lets analyze the problems:

Do you have ClipIt icon in tray on login?
Do you have ClipIt and CopyQ icons ( clipit-copyq ) in tray on their launch?

Did you tried to run them from terminal by clipit -h and copyq -v ?

How did you installed ClipIt and CopyQ? Please add output of

which clipit
which copyq

apt-cache policy $(dpkg -S $(which clipit))
apt-cache policy $(dpkg -S $(which copyq))

grep -i clipit ~/.xsession-errors
grep -i copyq ~/.xsession-errors
3 Likes

I did have Clipit in the tray on login, which I call the Action Bar if I understand your 'Tray' reference. It's the bar at the top of the screen that has quick launch icons for my favorites. Like browers and the like. But as I said, I uninstalled it using Software Manager. And reinstalled it, then uninstalled it. Several times over the weeks. Finally gave up and installed CopyQ, using Software Manager.

I do have the CopyQ icon in the action bar as you show above. It will not launch.

Start of requested outputs------------------------------------------------------

copyq -v
CopyQ Clipboard Manager v3.2.0 ([email protected])
Built with: Qt 5.9.3, LibQxt 0.7.0

which copyq
/usr/bin/copyq