Moved from mint 17.3 to ubuntu mate 16.04.1, my feedback after 2 weeks

hi

I’m new in unix like OS as I started using linux and freebsd on a daily basis 2+ years ago when I moved my work laptop on mint 17.3.

I hope it can be interesting for the project.

why switching ?

• lightweight desktop but not outdated
  • wanted more up to date softwares (expecially libre office)

The hardware :

• laptop clevo wu740 = system76 galago ultrapro : i7-4750hq + 16g ram + 1*ssd 128g + 1hd 1tb + 13.3" screen (no dedicated video card)
  • I use it with 2 16/9 1080p monitors or sometimes with a 21/9 34" screen

1/ the problems

1.1/ the network manager

1.1.1/ I loose the wifi sometimes when resuming the laptop. Investigate, I will.

1.1.2/ Openvpn : I couldn’t import a .ovpn client configuration from my pfsense firewall anymore and it seems to be an old bud (2010). I finnaly managed to make it work. I shared my informations on launchpad

1.1.3/ the mint team did a good job on visually make it more clear, separate wired, wifi, vpn …etc…

1.2/ bluetooth can’t pair anymore with my earplugs “nowall ch1”, investigate I will too

1.3/ my usb3 hub+ethernet adapter’ s nic was named quite simply in mint (something like “usb ethernet”), now it’ s “enxf01e341f5f22”, impressive name but not very user friendly :slight_smile:

1.5/ I work a lot with distant countries and I miss the cinnamon applet worldclock (not the default one) where I could customize the informations I wanted to see, in the task bar, and in the dropdown menu, and make those heretics (windows users collegues) completely jalous

1.6/ filemanager “caja”
- most of the time I use the compact view, but it truncates file names when then are longer then 20 characters (approx). I prefer the windows/mint way that can make the collumns adjust to file name size.
+ generally speaking caja seems to be faster

1.7/ the [super]+[E] shortcut doesn’t launch the file explorer even with the shortcut configured