Multiboot win 7 ubuntu mate and kali not installing?

Hi all this is my first time using grub and I am hitting a problem. I can’t seem to install ubuntu in the manner I “think” I should AND added to that I get unusable space. Here’s what I am doing could someone tell me what I am doing wrong.

my hard drive is 320gb I set up a win 7 partition of 100 gb and loaded win 7 which works win 7 grabbed a 100mb chunk for its recovery use so the layout looks like this

ntfs 100mb win 7 recovery ntfs 97.66gb win 7 boot 200gb unallocated

SO I put the ubuntu 15.10 disk and boot. I select install ubuntu I have a way I like to install ubuntu so I select the unallocated part of the drive and create a primary partition of 100gb. NOW I want to allocate 32000 mb to /root 2048mb to swap and the remaining 64000 mb to userdata BUT when I try this /root is fine swap “seems” to go well BUT then the rest of the drive space is now UNUSABLE??? so I cancelled the whole thing because this makes no sense to me. I thought I had created a primary partition out of PART of the unallocated space leaving 100gb to install kali .

Where is my thinking going wrong please?

Sounds like you hit the primary partition limit of four. If so, you need to use three primary partitions and one extended partition.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PartitioningSchemes#Partitioning_Scheme_for_Multiple_systems

1 Like

HMMM
when you install windoze 7 it automatically creates two primary partitions. One for the OS and the other for some “recovery” zone. I “think” what you are very kindly pointing out is that I can have win 7 ( taking two primary partitions) THEN in the unallocated space create one more primary for Ubuntu mate ( the machine is an IBM thinkpad t420 with embedded intel graphics) and ONE more partition but this time extended, So when I want to install Kali can I do so on a non primary partition and have it show up in the boot sequence like the other os’s?

thanks for you great link by the way