New SpiralLinux

After reading a good report, today I DL SppiralLinux (Mate):

https://spirallinux.github.io/

I haven't installed yet, just running it "Live" for now; seems ok.

I never heard of it, but I guess it's been around a while under a different name.

Anybody have any experience or opinions on SpiralLinux?

Thanks for any replies!

1 Like

Hi there,

I'm the creator/maintainer of SpiralLinux and GeckoLinux. Thanks for mentioning it! So, SpiralLinux is quite new, but I've been maintaining GeckoLinux since 2016. I started SpiralLinux because SUSE and openSUSE have announced some major changes that will eventually affect the GeckoLinux Static branch a few years from now, so SpiralLinux would fill the void in the event that openSUSE Leap ceases to exist or turns into a completely different sort of product.

1 Like

Thank you for your response. SpiralLinux looks great!

I haven't installed it yet. That's why I was hoping to hear from other users.

You are the only response so far. Maybe I'll install in my laptop and see what happens.

I have installed it on one of my testing units. It loaded and installed without a single problem. Haven't spent much time with it but, I like what I've seen already. I think it might be an OS that can be used as a backup for Ubuntu Mate.

Thanks DRC, So far I like it on the laptop...

sb56637: First thing I have to say is SpiralLinux (SL) is great, and definitely seems faster than Ubuntu Mate, which I have used for years. I've been running SLon a 4GB laptop and I am pleasantly surprised how well it runs.

I installed all my favs and I can say I like it better than UbuntuMate and am thinking of installing on my Desktop PC.