Nvidia GPU isnt being used when in game

Hello all,

I’m new to using Ubuntu Mate. I currently have 16.04 install on an Alienware M17x R3.
The issue i am having is that when I’m playing a steam game, the FPS is really poor. I have my Nvidia GPU (GTX 580M) set to be used for max performance. I disabled the intel video driver. Didn’t seem to do anything.

Is there anything else I should do to have my laptop properly use the Nvidia GPU?

Did you install the Nvidia Drivers or are you using the Nouveau?

Check in the menu System > Preferences > Hardware > Additional Drivers. If Nouveau is checked that would explain your problem.

1 Like

Hi @Woofah,

you can also check that you click on (proprietary, tested), select the highest number available to you!:

Or go a step further and try more later versions of NVIDIA’s drivers. The option to add the drivers repository is in Welcome → Getting Started → Drivers → Graphics → “Add Repository” (NVIDIA Only).

Or add the PPA manually:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:graphics-drivers/ppa
sudo apt-get update

Then check Additional Drivers for the latest NVIDIA driver (currently 364.19), which may offer some improvements.

1 Like

Hi,

I’ve noticed an Optimus issue with M17x R3 and GNU/Linux (isn’t just Ubuntu MATE, seen the same with other distributions).

Issue manifests as restricted Optimus NVIDIA performance (PowerMizer unable to achieve level higher than 1).

Here’s a workaround until a future time when this is fixed:

• Shut down the laptop
  • Restart and enter the BIOS (F2 key)
  • Change BIOS display device type from SG to PEG
  • Save settings and boot Ubuntu MATE

You will now be using the NVIDIA GPU directly, and should see a huge jump in performance. :slight_smile: