Odd functioning of the sidebar

Desktop computer, Ubuntu 22.10; Mate was updated (or Upgraded I don't recall) just 3-4 weeks ago and this odd appearance of the side bar occurred at that time:

I've been using the sidebar in Ubuntu Mate for several years but recently, an update/upgrade to Mate sort of ruined the operation IMO. I've tried to find a way to adjust it's operation but what I'm seeing in the sidebar that I want to fix isn't covered by any of the settings.

What it does now, which it didn't use to do, is crowd all the open windows into a tiny space stacked one above the other with no break between them. Making it hard to resolve visually, and with the mouse cursor. And the icons starting at the top fixed icon 'click here to hide windows...', get smaller as they stack downwards. The top folder icon is bigger than the current folder Icon at the bottom of the icons (as I open apps). The more apps I open, the more crowded the open app area on the sidebar becomes.

And, usually when I open a browser (or any app), before it would show up as an active app in the side bar as a small icon, but now, it shows up as a tiny icon AND a huge, can only see half of it, icon below the other open apps' icons. Weird. I can click on it an open the app too. What's it for, why is it there?

Where do I find more control of sidebars in Mate? I can't find anything in mate-control-center. Is this a tweak app somewhere in my system I've lost track of over the years? It's not the Mate tweak as now there's only one page of stuff on Mate Tweak and it doesn't really mention sidebars.

I can't even find any reference to the sidebar now since the Mate update/upgrade. I can right click on it near the bottom of the screen and a 'Properties' is there, but adjustment are few and none for what I'm trying to adjust.

Anyway, can someone point me to Mate's sidebar Properties or Preferences or Tweaks? Thanks.

do you have some screenshots please?

Why yes, yes I do...