Pluma can't print black color

Hello all,
I’m a long time Linux user (10+ yrs) , even if I don’t know all the in-and-outs, I’m no programmer (yet), but I got to hang around until now thanks to the community and help I always find in the forums.
It’s the first time I’m actually opening a thread on something, but it seems like I can’t find anyone else on the internet who’s having my same problem, so let’s get to the point.

I recently bought a Canon Pixma TS3150 printer, succeded to connect it to both Windows and Linux, wifi working and all, everything works fine, great.

The problem comes out when I’m using Pluma text editor and I try to print, it prints everything but black text. Colors are fine, the printer simply seems not to get the black part: when I try to print, the page come out with all the colored text, and the black ink cartridge simply does nothing at all. It’s like it’s not even rendering the black text, ignoring it.

This happend only with Pluma editor, test pages print well, and I even installed Gedit to print what I write with Pluma and it comes out well, as expected. So why is Pluma behaving like this?

For now I’m working it around this way: writing on Pluma editor, then copy-paste into Gedit and get it to print, but I really don’t like Gedit as I don’t like the way Ubuntu is implementing Gnome 3 DE right now (that’s the main reason why we all are using MATE right now isn’t it?) so I would like to dump it in favor to be using only Pluma editor which I really really like (and use it a lot).

I’m running Ubuntu MATE 18.04 64bit on an ASUS K550J laptop.

Thanks in advance to anyone who will answer

Is the black font displayed when you select print preview?

Mickey :slight_smile: