PowerMac G5 - Sound - Fixed

Hello

congrats to the developers! I have been using elementary OS on my x86 workhorse for the last two years and wanted to give my G5 PPC I have not used much recently a new live. So I tried ubunta Mate 16.04 with a live CD and everything looked well except sound (and WiFi), where no device was listed.

I then carbon copied the existing OS X 10.5.8 installation to a new bigger harddisk, reduced that partition to a smaller size and let the ubuntu MATE installer do the rest as recommended. Everything looked and worked pretty well after installation, but again no sound at all. I am aware that there are quite a few posts in several forums and communities about the sound issue on PPC G5s and that this topic has been marked “Fixed”. But these solutions do not work for me / on my box.

First I had the typical common phenomenon with “dummy audio” being said and no audio device listed in system settings. Alsamixer crashed when selecting
Edit > Sound Card Properties
obviously because there was no sound card recognised.

On wiki.ubuntu.com/PowerPCFAQ it says the file /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.local.conf should be deleted. But I do not have such file on my system. What I found is a blacklist.conf and seven more blacklists in this directory, but none of those seems to adress sound.

Then I added the following to /etc/modules:
snd_aoa_i2sbus
snd_aoa_fabric_layout
snd_aoa_codec_tas
snd_aoa_codec_onyx
As a result there is now a sound card listed in settings:
“K2 KeyLargo Mac/IO”
and both in settings and ALSA the device can be edited. But still no sound what ever the settings are.

btw: in OS X it says the sound card would be:
Texas Instruments TAS3004

pls help
thx in advance
Ulrich