Rational Reason for two DEs Gnome & Unity

Please remember I am new to Linux and Ubuntu. I have looked for the answer to why two different DEs on the web and found lots of words and opinions, but no real reasons.

Is there an answer to the question or is it like “Which came first the chicken or the egg”?

Thanks, Fred

I think it’s as simple as the two groups behind them — Canonical and the GNOME developers, many whom work for Red Hat — having different needs and different visions.

To explain this as complete as possible I need to explain one thing first. Under GNU/Linux you have window managers (WMs) and desktop environments (DEs). Window Managers are applications like i3, awesome, jwm. These are just examples there are more available.

To make a Desktop Environment work you need a window manager, so MATE uses marco, Elementary uses gala and KDE uses kwin. Remind you, these are just examples. Every DE uses a window manager. This enables you to, lets say, replace marco with compiz for better rendering, silly (oops, strike that) beautiful effects and so on.

Now a bit of history: The first DE was KDE, soon followed by Gnome. Not that KDE did not work, but because the developers of Gnome did not like KDE. So it is just about different philosophies on the look and feel of a desktop. For a long time KDE and Gnome ruled the linux world, but there were always different ones available like XFCE4 and Enlightenment.

After a few years Canonical tried something new and created Unity as their main DE, Gnome stopped development of Gnome2 and started Gnome3, Gnome2 was forked and renamed to MATE. And last but not least, the Solus project created Budgie. There are more, but hey, this isn’t wikipedia so I could have missed a few.